Living For More Than Self

background-Eph 5 1014963_1920

S – “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” Ephesians 5:15-17

O – We should take careful thought about how we walk, how we live our lives, and not just foolishly trip along, not examining our actions. We need to be wise and make the best use of our time not wasting it just living for the moment, living for ourselves. To make the best use of our time is to understand the will of the Lord. This is imperative because the days are evil. This is not Leave it to Beaver. These are evil days. People are suffering on earth, dying, and going to hell. We can’t just skip through life picking out paint colors, and drinking tea. There’s something greater going on. It’s not sinful to enjoy the gifts we have, but it is sinful to pretend that’s all there is to life. There will be no reward in heaven for just enjoying the simple pleasures of life.

A/P – Father, I need this truth in my life. I need to live for more than just taking care of our house, decorating, shopping, cleaning, eating, and going my merry way. I know this isn’t all there is. I know people all around are hurting. I know so many in the world don’t have the gifts I do. I don’t want to live like the “princess in the tower” or the “girl in a bubble”. Open my eyes to see, to give, to sacrifice, and to be willing to serve. Thank you for all the gifts you have given me! Thank you for the privilege to learn, study, and grow. Thank you for your love.

This is a message straight to me, to my heart. I pray God will help me move beyond where I am and live more wisely. 

Please share your thoughts.

Click to read about the SOAP Bible Study method. (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, serving, sin, SOAP

Leave a Reply

