Take One Step

book-1209805_1280

 “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” James 4:7-8 (ESV)

 

I have to make some choices here. I have to choose to submit to God. I choose to draw near to Him. When I do, He promises to draw near to me.

If we take one step towards God, He meets us.

I have to choose to resist the devil, just resist. Submit to God, oppose the devil. It doesn’t say I have to defeat the devil in my strength. Just resist. Don’t just give in or follow blindly along. Don’t just accept his lies.

RESIST.

Draw near to God. Cleanse and purify my heart. Be single-minded in seeking God.

Father, thank you that you love me so much. Thank you that in your strength it is possible to resist the devil. Thank you that you always meet the one who steps toward you. I want to submit to you, dear Father. I want you to have all my heart. Please help me resist the evil one today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, God, Jesus, spiritual growth, spiritual warfare

Leave a Reply

