Am I Living With Purpose?

woman-591576

I winced as my tongue touched the roof of my mouth. The red, painful sores that had recently flared up made it difficult to eat.

The pain had become too much. I just couldn’t take it anymore. I tried essential oils, vitamins, drugs, salt water,  rest and other treatments to find some relief from the pain.

As I look back over my life, I’ve been sick many times and spent a lot of time and money getting healthy and keeping this body going. But the truth is the same for everybody. Our earthly bodies are temporary. No matter what we do, we all will die one day.

As I was trying to figure out what could have caused these awful sores and how to get them to go away, a seed that had been sown into my heart long ago sprouted.

Instead of dedicating so much of my focus to this temporary body and working to keep it alive as long as possible, I asked myself,  “Am I really living? Will I live the abundant life Jesus came to give me or will I just exist in the time I have here on earth?” I can’t change the fact that I will die or even control the day it will happen.

“A persons days are determined; you have decreed the number of his months and have set limits he cannot exceed.” (Job 14:5, NIV)

Instead of constantly looking for the latest cure for some physical ailment, I need to focus more on:

  • How will I live?
  • How will I make the most impact with the time I have?
  • What legacy will I leave behind?

Those are the eternally important questions.

Of course, I want to be physically healthy so I can enjoy the time I have. But being obsessed with prolonging life is pointless. Better to focus on living each moment to the fullest.

“Show me, Lord, my lifes end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is.” (Psalm 39:4, NIV)

“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”(Psalm 90:12, NIV)

When I am sick, I focus on how I can fix the immediate problem. But am I that determined when there is a spiritual weakness? Do I seek the Lord until victory comes? Do I take a selfish attitude as seriously as I do a sore throat? Am I as concerned about pride as I am about an infection?

This body is wasting away. Nothing can turn that around. But my inner being is being renewed day by day. My inner being will live forever. Am I seeking purity and holiness? That’s an eternal investment. Am I quick to find help when my soul is sick?

I have a dear friend who was recently diagnosed with cancer. She struggles with the thought of how long she has left. She wonders, “Do I have two years, five years or 10 years?”

The truth is we are all terminal.

A diagnosis like hers makes it real. But none of us knows what will be our last day or hour.

So I make this my prayer: Father, I want to focus my thoughts on living life to the fullest with the time I have. I don’t know how many more days I have. But I don’t want to waste them. Help me to focus on living this moment fully alive and to trust you with how many moments there will be. I love you Lord!

We all struggle with the shortness and working so hard to l keep this body alive, we should focus on how to keep our souls healthy by seeking God first and loving Him and others to the fullest.

“Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” (Matthew 6:27, NIV)

Have you taken some time to evaluate your spiritual life lately? If not, set aside time today to honestly determine how much time you’ve committed to prayer, reading and meditating on God’s word and serving others in the past few days, weeks or months.. If you haven’t been doing any or all of these things, it’s likely your spiritual health is suffering.

Just like diet and exercise, spiritual fitness takes discipline and commitment, and there is no better time to start strengthening your spiritual body than right now. Let’s get started!

IMG_8438psalm 90 12 (1)

I originally published this at Takin’ it to the streets  as “How’s Your Spiritual Health?”

livingbygracepic

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under death, Faith, fear, health, hope, life, personal

Leave a Reply

