Find the Treasure!

ancient-1300292_proverbs1280

S – “My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding—indeed, if you call out for insight and cry around for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.” Proverbs 2:1-5 (NIV)

O – Solomon teaches us that wisdom is from God and we find it in His word but we must ask for it, cry out for it, search for it and seek to understand. We must apply our hearts to understand His truth.

A – I like to ask God for wisdom, then walk away expecting Him to just zap me and make me wise. I get up from prayer and…Boom! I am wise. His words here tell me I need to store up His commands, turn my ear to wisdom, apply my heart, look for it as I would look for silver, search for it as for hidden treasure. That sounds like work! I don’t get instantaneous wisdom. I need to search the scriptures every day looking for His wisdom, memorize His commands to hide them in my heart, listen to teaching on His word, and APPLY my HEART to understand and live it not just to hear.  I need to give my all to find His wisdom. If I were searching for hidden treasure, I would spend a lot of time meditating on where to look, I would be obsessed with finding the treasure. I would look until I succeeded.

Yes, I ask God for wisdom and wisdom comes from Him:

“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” James 1:5 (NIV)

But, I need to do my part by giving my all to seek Him and His wisdom, to study His word, meditate on His truth, memorize scripture and APPLY it to my heart and life.

P – Father, thank you that you gave us the gift of your Word and that in it we can find wisdom. Thank you that your Spirit allows us to understand truth and apply it. Please help me to search for wisdom as for hidden treasure. Please help me live it out each day.Thank you for your unfailing love!

Accept, Store, Listen, Apply, Call out, Cry for, Look, and Search – Finding wisdom requires action.

Click on SOAP to learn more about this method of Bible reading.

livingbygracepic

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Bible Study, Christianity, Faith, Listening to God, SOAP, wisdom

One response to “Find the Treasure!

  1. Pingback: Treasure Hunting Takes Effort – 40+/Single/Clueless

Leave a Reply

