Speak Life

IMG_speak life8076

S –  “So put away all malice and all deceit and hypocrisy and envy and all slander.” 1 Peter 2:1 (ESV)

O – At the end of ch. 1 Peter has exhorted us to love each other deeply from the heart and to remember that we are all like grass. Because of this we are to put away or rid ourselves of ALL malice, deceit, hypocrisy, envy and slander. ALL – that means even for politicians we do not support, even for “those” people out there who are doing evil. All means all. Christians have been very much caught up in slander (myself included) especially with the current use of  social media. It is so easy to express every thought and to get caught up in “mob” frenzy. The more we hear everyone else attacking someone, the easier it is to join in. God’s Word says this is not the way it should be with God’s people. We are to be focused on praising Him, trusting Him, lifting up His name instead of tearing down the names of others.

A – I myself need to repent of this. I get caught up in the mob frenzy. I follow the crowd in slandering our leaders and speaking evil.

P – Father, please help me put away all malice, deceit, hypocrisy, envy and slander. Especially envy and slander. I confess I have fallen into these. Help my speech to honor you. I know it begins in my thoughts. Jesus help my thoughts to be focused on you and your truth. Help my thoughts to be filled with faith and trust. Help me to pray instead of slandering. I love you Lord.

Speak Life

 

If you want to know more about SOAP – (Scripture, Observation, Application and Prayer) Bible Study. Click here: SOAP

 

livingbygracepic

1 Comment

Filed under Bible Study, Faith, Glory of God, Grace, Obedience, slander, SOAP, speech, trust

One response to “Speak Life

Leave a Reply

