Would I Get In The Wheelbarrow?

IMG_8115Psalm145

“The LORD is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love. The LORD is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.” Psalm 145:8-9 (ESV)

This is LORD God we serve. Gracious, merciful, slow to anger, abounding in steadfast love! He is awesome and He IS good to all. We accept that by faith. We have to trust His sovereign wisdom. His mercy does cover us.

“Every day I will bless you and praise your name forever and ever. Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised, and his greatness is unsearchable.” v. 2-3

The message of trust keeps coming to me. Yesterday Joshua Huntoon, a local youth pastor, gave a message on faith. He used the illustration of when Charles Blondin pushed a wheelbarrow on a tightrope over Niagara Falls. He pushed the wheelbarrow over, then he pushed it with the wheelbarrow full of cement. The story goes that he then asked the crowd if they believed he could push it with a man inside. They yelled, “Yes!”. When he asked for a volunteer, no one was willing.

I can say “I believe” he can do it but would I get in the wheelbarrow?

With Jesus, getting in the wheelbarrow shows I believe and know God is trustworthy and good and not that I am “pretty sure” He is trustworthy.

It struck me that when I believed in Jesus as a child, I got in the wheelbarrow. That means I let Him take me where He wants me to go. That means I will trust Him no matter what. That means No. Matter. WHAT happens, I trust. The Centurion was praised for great faith because he got it that Jesus was Sovereign God, above all, and had the right and power to command all things. If I am not trusting, if I am fearful or doubting, than I doubt His power, I doubt His goodness. But v. 9 says, He is “good to all.”  He is “kind in all his works” v. 17. “The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” v. 18 When I call on Him in faith and belief, He is there.

Thank you Father for being the awesome God you are! Thank you LORD God Almighty that you are awesome in power. You are Holy and Good. You are Kind and Gracious. You are Near and you are Merciful. You are abounding in steadfast love. I worship You. I bow before you. I give to you all my heart and soul. I will praise your name forever!

vintage-948413_1280

livingbygracepic

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Bible Study, Christianity, Devotional, Faith, God, God's love, hope, inspirational, Jesus, trust

Leave a Reply

