What Jesus Did

jesus-717623_1280

“Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; so he….” John 13:3

What would I expect this to say?

Jesus knew all things were under his power…so He…

Made a blind man see?

Raised someone from the dead?

Healed the sick?

Defeated the enemy?

Preached a great sermon?

Stilled a storm?

Showed His glory?

What would I do if I knew God had put all things under my power?

What did Jesus do?

He “got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist…and began to wash his disciples feet.” John 13:4-5

What??

Okay. He knew He had all power, so He got up, knelt down, took the job of a servant and washed 12 pairs of dirty feet? Including the feet of one He knew would betray Him?

Yes, that is what the Son of God did. He did this as an example for us.

This truth blows my mind.

It’s so opposite of our fleshly human nature. So opposite of what most of us would do. Usually the more power one has the more we expect others to serve us.

Jesus did this as an example for us, to set an example for me. What would this look like in my life? Am I supposed to go around washing feet?

I think it looks like meeting the need that is in front of me.

Jesus knew their feet needed to be washed.

What do I see?

Someone who needs a meal…

A mom who needs a sitter…

A hurting soul who needs a listening ear…

Someone sick who needs a visitor…

A lonely person who needs a friend…

Ministries that need help…

Am I willing to get my hands dirty?

Am I willing to step out of my comfort zone?

How can we follow the example of Jesus today by serving someone in need?

“Seek the LORD, all you humble of the land, you who do what he commands. Seek righteousness, seek humility…” Zephaniah 2:3a

Seek Humility

Originally published at Internet Cafe Devotions

livingbygracepic

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, humility, Jesus, serving

2 responses to “What Jesus Did

Leave a Reply

