Take a Load Off

I enjoy photography! One day I decided it’d be a great idea to use a little suitcase to carry my photo equipment and I took it to the lake. As I pulled it around, it made such a loud noise; I carried it half the time. When I went to the shore to take pictures I had to lug it along. After 2 miles, I was anxious to get rid of the weight. I thought about how free I would feel! I wasn’t able to enjoy taking pictures. It occurred to me this is what we do in life. We carry these heavy burdens that weigh us down and take our joy.

all-who-are-weary-come-to-me-922913

I thought of family concerns, hurting friends, the uncertainty in the world and my own daily struggles. I remembered that Jesus told us to come to Him to find rest. He promised that His yoke is easy. His yoke brings freedom not slavery because it means He will carry our burdens for us.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

When I finally reached the car and left the suitcase, I grinned as I hurried back unhindered.

How much more I need that freedom in my spirit! When I talk to Jesus about my cares and concerns and give them to Him, He carries them. I am free! Free to be who He created me to be. Free to walk with joy.

Thank you Jesus! Thank you for taking my burdens. Thank you for giving me rest. I want to learn from you and be more like you.

We all have burdens we carry in life. Some are heavier than others but just living in this world of pain and sorrow we will face some kind of trouble everyday. Jesus gives us an invitation to come to Him and find rest. He wants to help.

IMG_2714burdens

Originally published at Takin It to the Streets

livingbygracepic

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, burdens, Jesus

Leave a Reply

