Facing Sudden Heartbreak

heart-239667_1280

The arena was filled with praise as Michael W. Smith and Amy Grant led us in singing “Because He Lives”. Talk about memories! In an instant I was taken back over 40 years to the first time I heard this song, a brand new song written by Bill and Gloria Gaither. I was twenty years old and I was supposed to be newly married. But 3 weeks before our wedding, my fiancé told me he wasn’t sure he loved me and in fact he’d met this other girl and wasn’t sure which one he loved or if he even knew what love was. I was devastated.

Three weeks away.

All the plans were made. Invitations were out. The dress hung in my closet.

We were hanging curtains at the little place we planned to live in after we got married. As I stood on the ladder, I heard him say, “I need to tell you something.” Soon my heart was in pieces. Three days later I was sobbing as all the plans that had been made were pulled apart one thread at a time till all that was left was broken dreams. I felt like I had no future anymore. All my future plans had involved being a wife (supposedly a pastor’s wife).

I felt like a boat adrift at sea.

Then my sister invited me to go with her church to Falls Creek (a summer youth camp). My healing began the night they introduced two new Gaither songs. The first one was “Because He Lives.” That song poured healing into my soul.

Because He lives, I could face the pain of a broken engagement.

Because He lives, I could face an uncertain future.

Because He lives, I knew I was not alone.

With Jesus, I had everything. I knew He would get me through. He gave me hope. Life was worth living just because of Him.

My future was in His hands. I knew I could trust Him with whatever might come.

Forty years later, once again I sat in an arena singing this song with hundreds of others. This time I was sitting with my husband of almost 32 years. The man I love and who loves me. I’m experiencing the truth of what God told me 40 years ago. He holds my future. I can trust Him.

Because He lives:Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.” 1 Peter 1:3 (NIV)

I can face tomorrow:Now listen, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’ Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” James 4:13-15 (NIV)

Though my father and mother forsake me, the LORD will receive me.” Psalm 27:10

And the second song by the Gaithers that was introduced that night long ago?

“Something Beautiful”

He made something beautiful of my life.

We all face times of heartbreak when it seems like the future has been wiped out. During those times, remembering He holds the future gives us hope. When we place our trust in Him, we can face unknown tomorrows. He will make something beautiful of our brokenness.

 

First published at: Internet Cafe Devotions

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, God, God's purposes, Jesus, personal

One response to “Facing Sudden Heartbreak

Leave a Reply

