The Misery of Worry

IMG_worry2ndedited6057

Another sleepless night!

My thoughts tossed and turned with my body as I tried to sleep. The words that had been spoken echoed in my mind. These were not the words I wanted to hear from my loved one. As my body rolled with my thoughts, I began to imagine the suffering it might bring.

God’s words came to my mind, “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.” Philippians 4:6

Don’t worry. What is worry? Thoughts, feelings, impressions, fears. It isn’t action. It doesn’t produce anything or change anything. Worry won’t add one hour to my life or my loved ones life. Worry is defined as anxiety or unease, to allow one’s mind to dwell on difficulty or troubles. It has the same meaning as when a dog gnaws on a bone and drags it around. That’s a nice picture. Me lying in bed gnawing on my troubles like a bone. Worry is trying to get to my destination by walking in a circle. It’ll never happen. Why do I worry then? Why is it so hard to stop worrying? Perhaps it is because I can’t let go of thinking “I” can take care of it. That I should be able to solve the problem. My pastor says, “worry is praying to your self”.

Pray instead. What if I pray about all my concerns instead of worrying about them? What if I thank God for all He has done and all He is going to do?

Lord, You created the one I love. You love this dear one more than I ever could. I trust them into your hands. Please help them with their struggles. Please let your love fill their heart. Work your will out in this life. Help them to hear your voice and follow you. Thank you for the gift this person is. Thank you for all you are doing in their life.

We all have times we are tempted to worry. This world is full of trouble. We need to remember when worry comes to take it as a reminder to pray. Pray about everything related to our worry, thank God for all He has done and is going to do and remember that worry won’t add one minute to our lives or solve even one problem while prayer changes the world.

What worry can you cover in prayer today?

IMG_6749signed

Originally published at Takin It To the Streets

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, Christianity, Devotional, Faith, fear, struggles

Leave a Reply

