Keeping In Step

walking-454543_1280

Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” Galatians 5:25

“Keep in step” here means “to be in rows” or “walk in line, in strict accordance to a particular pace; walk in cadence.”

At a recent game, I watched as four girls carried flags walking in sync. I wondered how long they had to practice. Each had to keep their eyes on the others and match their rhythm. Each followed the leader’s commands. They were focused. They were not free to set their own pace.

How do I walk in step with the Spirit of God? I put my eyes on Him, I listen for His command and I start walking. I train every day with the goal of walking in step with Him.

This is how it looks when I am in step:

I begin the day asking God to fill me with His Sprit, thanking Him for His gifts and yielding to Him. I read His word looking for one truth for that day. (See https://discoveronething.wordpress.com/) This is an important foundation. Without His word, we easily go astray. Then I can move on without giving it another thought OR I can meditate on His truth throughout the day and listen for His Spirit to guide me. For example, He impresses me to pray for someone and I pray immediately. He convicts me of a sin and I repent. He puts it on my heart to give, to encourage, to join or to back away from a ministry and as He leads I follow. I keep in step with Him.

When do I get out of step? When I hear His call and ignore Him or pretend I don’t hear Him. Yes, I sometimes pretend I didn’t hear Him. How foolish! Am I still His child if I ignore Him? Certainly. Does He still love me? Absolutely! Will I find peace and fulfillment? No. Not when I ignore my Lord. I deceive myself and am deceived by the enemy when I think I can ignore the Spirit and still find peace and joy in life. That choice ends in emptiness and regret. There might be temporary pleasure that comes from indulgence. But in my heart, I will eventually come back to truth and regret the time I wasted or the bad choices I made. I don’t know what blessings I have missed because of ignoring His leading. He knows everything and He knows what will ultimately bring the peace, joy and fulfillment I long for.

If I want to keep in step with the Holy Spirit, my mind must be set on Him.

Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.” Romans 8:5

Just as the girls I saw must train and practice in order to stay in sync so we must train ourselves to stay in step with the Holy Spirit. If I get out of step, should I get discouraged and quit? No! I make adjustments, put my eyes back on my Lord, and I get back in step. Even if I have to do it a hundred times a day. The more I train myself to put my eyes back on Him, the less often I will fulfill the lusts of the flesh.

Gal 5:16 “So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.”

Are you out of step?

Listen for His call.

I originally published this at a site for Takin It To The Streets:

http://www.takinittothestreetsomaha.org/blogs/keeping-in-step/

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Bible Study, Devotions, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Listening to God, Obedience

Leave a Reply

