Am I Really Serious? by Kim Chipman

1499470_191833461017273_329163564_n

Some very powerful thoughts from my friend who has suffered a painful loss:

S~ Then Samuel said to all the people of Israel, “If you want to return to the Lord with all your hearts, get rid of your foreign gods and your images of Ashtoreth. Turn your hearts to the Lord and obey him alone; then he will rescue you from the Philistines.” 1 Samuel 7:3 (NLT)

O~ The Israelites had been mourning for 20 years – they felt the Lord had abandoned them. Samuel attempted to inspire some action from them instead of just whining and complaining about it.

A~ So, if I am really serious about You then how do I respond?

Our family is processing the passing of my 6 year old nephew Parker. He had a rare, aggressive form of leukemia and went to be with Jesus April 6th. He had been ill for some time, although there were many ups and downs and this last period of intense illness and decline was quite rapid. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking, praying, and talking with my husband and kids about it all.

It’s a lot easier to believe You when things are comfortable, predictable, safe, happy, logical, and fair. When no one bumps into my happy. When we’re coasting. The thing is, when you turn up the heat is when my heart is purified. When I have to make the hard choices. When I must decide to either trust Your Word is truth or believe something else is. When it is so painfully difficult, when it doesn’t make sense to me, and when I just don’t understand…when circumstances taunt me into choosing ‘foreign gods’ of comfort…of immediate gratification…of “did God really say…?”…then what?

“If you are really serious about wanting to return to the Lord” – then be serious about it, Kim. This world is not our home. It is broken, unfair, and temporary. Parker is in heaven! No more pain, no more cancer, no more struggle. If I’m serious about You then I need to choose to believe You no matter the circumstances. You allow difficult things. It isn’t random or beyond your control. Heaven is perfect, the world isn’t.

I determine to trust and obey only the Lord.

And I hate cancer.

P~ Lord, I love You. I love Your Word. I love Your truth which never changes no matter the swirling circumstances. I choose You. I trust You. I love You.

Please read  the rest of the SOAP notes here:

https://discoveronething.wordpress.com/2015/04/09/april-9-1-samuel-67-psalm-72-2-corinthians-9-2/

Leave a comment

Filed under death, Eternity, Faith, grief, losing a child to cancer, loss of a loved one, suffering, thoughts on suffering

Leave a Reply

