We Are Dust: Psalm 103:14

we-are-dust-bettercurly-psalm-103

“How to Live Longer.”

“Add decades to your life with theses five simple tips.”

“50 ways to add years to your life.”

“Secrets of a long life.”

“100 ways to live to 100.”

Did any of these titles catch your eye? These are just a few of hundreds a Google search brought up in a few seconds. I think today more than ever people are obsessed with prolonging youth and living longer.

So, what if I do? What if I live to 100 or longer?

Life is still a puff of smoke.

Any way you look at it, this life is so brief it takes my breath away.

We are weak, fragile, temporary beings (physically) and God understands that.

He knows how weak we are.

As a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him; for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust. The life of mortals is like grass, they flourish like a flower of the field; the wind blows over it and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more.” Psalm 103:13-17

These bodies we live in are dust. The time we will spend living in them is like a flower that blooms in the morning and by evening it is gone. I have no strength of my own. I have no power. God understands that. He knows how weak I am. He sent Jesus to rescue us because He knew we were powerless to help ourselves. There are times when in my heart I want to do amazing, world-changing acts yet I struggle to be patient with the ones I love. He knows I have no strength of my own. Yet in His graciousness, He allows me to have His strength. He calls me to trust in His strength. He knows I am going to make mistakes, get tired and sometimes (or often) fail in my attempts to follow Him. He knows and he loves me anyway! He allows me to have His strength.

When Paul was struggling with physical weakness, he asked God to take it away. He shared God’s reply in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “Each time he said, ‘My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.’ So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”

Take a deep breath.

God knows you are going to make mistakes. He knows you can’t do everything you “should”. He loves you with an everlasting love and that will never change.

What He wants is for us to love Him, listen to Him and trust Him to be our strength.

In our weakness, we are made strong because His power shines in us. He takes these shells of clay and He uses them to do His will on earth. That is amazing!

Thank You, Lord, that you understand my weakness. You know I am living in a body made of dust. You know I have no strength of my own. Thank You for being willing to live in me through Your Holy Spirit. Please let Your strength show in my life.

This was first published on Delia Latham’s blog Living the Write Life: http://delialatham.blogspot.com/2015/04/susan-aken-psalm-10314-we-are-dust.html

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Devotional, Eternity, Faith, food

One response to “We Are Dust: Psalm 103:14

  1. Reblogged this on ejmal and commented:
    Take a deep breath.
    خذ نفسا عميقا
    God knows you are going to make mistakes
    الله يغلم اننا سنخطئ
    . He knows you can’t do everything you
    “should”.
    هو يعلم اننا لن نسطيع دائما فعل”المفروض”
    He loves you with an everlasting love and that will never change.
    انه يحبك حبا ابدي لن يتغير

    In our weakness, we are made strong
    في ضعفنا يجعلنا أقوياء
    because His power shines in us.
    ﻻن نوره يسطع في دواخلنا
    He takes these shells of clay and He uses them to do His will on earth.
    انه يأخذ صدفات الطين هذه ليجعلها خليفته في اﻷرض That is amazing!
    انه لشئ مدهش!

    Thank You, Lord, that you understand my weakness. You know I am living in a body made of dust.
    شكرا ياإلهي انت ندرك ضعفنا
    واننا نعيش في اجساد خلقت من غبار.

    Like

Leave a Reply

