Sour Grapes or New Wine?

blog hop

Today I welcome Carol McClain for the fifth step of the Call to Praise Blog Hop. Welcome Carol! Please check the bottom of the page for a link to the next blog stop.

Psalm 103: 2 “Bless the Lord, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits:”

Sometimes I’m not a very nice person. Oh, my friends will disagree. My husband will once more enumerate all my wonderful qualities. My daughter tears up when she tells friends about her best friend: me.

They don’t always see my little old patch of cultivated sour grapes. I don’t know why I insist on growing them as they leave a bad taste in my mouth, sicken my stomach, and drag me further away from the Lord. And, when I put the issue in print, my complaints are pretty laughable.

grapes bigger

For example, my debut novel came out four months ago, and I have ONLY eleven reviews. Others, with their book out for thirty minutes, rack up more than a billion. Yuck. That doesn’t signify my disdain for them. It’s the taste of my lack of gratitude.

Shortly before I came to know Christ, I got divorced. For more than twenty years, I remained single. Goofy friends got married pronto. Those two-times married found another mate—shouldn’t they wait until we wallflowers got a turn? Sheesh. That’s not a comment on the favor of God on their lives. It’s the flavor of those darn grapes.

 

I’ve always wanted to be able to sing. At one point I had been invited to join the music ministry—not sure why. I can’t sing. It soon became apparent to the music leader that I sang flatter than a piece of vellum. I was uninvited. I cried for weeks and still secretly plot ways to win The Voice and prove my worth.

And that’s the crux of all my issues. I want to prove my worth when it was already verified for me on Calvary. I want all my perceived blessings owed me, and when that doesn’t happen, I don’t see the true miracles of my life.

I have a secure house, dependable car, good friends, a family and a comfortable income. I’m loved. I live in a country where I’m not beheaded for following my faith or in a country where faith does not exist. But these are not the true benefits of God.

I’m forgiven. Big sins. Little peccadillos. Gone–as far as the east is from the west.

Before I knew Christ, I destroyed my innocence. I’ve found, through my walk, that it had been restored.

And mostly, this world is not my home. It’ll vanish like the morning vapor. Be washed away like dust after a spring shower. Forever, I will live with Jesus in perfection and beauty and holiness.

When I remember these blessings, I can throw away my sour grapes and drink the new wine of a beautiful life.

DSC_0120

Carol McClain is an erstwhile English teacher, a bassoonist and a stained-glass artist with an eclectic array of other interests. She lives in the frozen tundra of northern NY with a husband who thinks she’s pretty swell, and a dog that dotes on her.

 

Her debut novel is DWF: Divorced White Female. In this humorous women’s fiction, sassy and unsaved Cheryl Chandler knows only one thing will save her from her husband’s desertion: a man—any man so long as he’s hot. Somehow she has to find him. Eventually, he has to meet her kids. The first problem is solved by her children who sign her up on an online dating site. The second problem? She’s stuck.

 

Today’s post is the fifth post in the A Call to Praise Blog Hop. You can click below and that will take you to Jennifer Slattery’s blog, where you will find the schedule for the entire study of Psalms 103.)

http://jenniferslatterylivesoutloud.com/a-call-to-praise-blog-hop/

a-call-to-praise-icon-2

The next post will be on March 18th at Sarah Rutt’s blog: http://sarahruut.com/

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Devotional, Faith, God, Jesus, Thankfulness, women

Leave a Reply

