Trying to Hold on to Mist

forest-438388_1280

Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” James 4:14

I was recently reflecting on the fact our 22-year-old son moved into his own apartment. It’s such a bittersweet time. It’s not like when he went to college and still came “home” on weekends. This is no longer his primary home. He moved everything.

Bitter – because he won’t be here everyday, he won’t be sleeping here anymore and this is a turning point. Bitter – because it’s a time of saying goodbye to what was and it’s the start of a new chapter.

Sweet – because it’s right that he move out and live his own life. It’s time. Sweet – because now we’ll start a new chapter as empty nesters and all that means and he’ll enjoy the independence of living as an adult.

Life is so fleeting. I find myself wanting to hold onto relationships, places, and things. I start wishing I could stop change and keep this moment. I want to hold back illness or pain or estrangement. There are so many moments in life, I’d like to hold suspended in time, but they slip through my fingers. Like a mist, they’re gone. I can’t stop the change. I can’t hold on. The best moment will pass again and again. Change is frightening. To let go of what is comfortable and secure, what is known is hard. If only I could see the other side, that only through change do I find growth and that there can be new levels of happiness. It isn’t easy to learn that pain is an important part of life. The changes will come whether I want them to or not. It’s a spiritual paradox that only by letting go can I hold on. There are many precious moments we had with our son that are gone. I can keep them in my heart and be thankful I had them but I can’t live there. I need to live in this moment and find the gold God has for me here. If I’m always looking back to moments that are past, I might miss the one God has for me right now.

Truly my soul silently waits for God; From Him comes my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved…He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved.” Psalm 62:1-2,6

As I read this scripture, “He only is my rock and my salvation,” I realize I am ok because God is the only one who is my rock. Not my son, not my husband and not any person, place or possession. My Rock never moves and is unchanging. He’s always there. Because He’s strong, I will not be moved, meaning to me that I will not fall; I will not be steered off course because of any event in my life. My God is the Rock who always keeps me secure.

Thank you Lord! Thank you that I can rejoice at all times knowing you are my strength and shield. I love you! Thank you for the special moments you give me each day. Thank you for our son. May His journey be blessed. May He always look to you for guidance.

Is there a moment you are tying to hold onto? What if God wants to give you something even better?

This article was published first on Internet Cafe Devotions:

http://internetcafedevotions.com/2015/02/trying-to-hold-on-to-mist/

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Eternity, Faith, family, God, hope, inspirational, Jesus, life, my son, peace, personal, relationships, struggles

Leave a Reply

