Me…Serve?

Have you ever resented having to serve someone? Maybe you were in a situation where you wanted to be the one being served but instead you found yourself in the role of servant. (This happens often to mothers…and fathers) I know there have been times I resented having to serve someone else. Then I look at the example of Jesus:

When they had landed, they saw a fire of burning coals there with fish on it, and some bread. Jesus said to them, ‘Bring some of the fish you have just caught.’ So Simon Peter climbed into the boat and dragged the net ashore. It was full of large fish, 153, but even with so many the net was not torn. Jesus said to them, ‘Come and have breakfast.’ None of the disciples dared ask him, ‘Who are you?’ They knew it was the Lord. Jesus came, took the bread and gave it to them, and did the same with the fish.” John 21:9-13 (NIV)

Jesus, the Son of God, our Glorious Savior, has just returned from dying on the cross and conquering death! He came to earth from heaven, lived a perfect life and died in our place on the cross. He carried the weight of all our sin, defeated death and hell and rose to life again. Now the Risen Savior stands before the disciples and is cooking for them and serving them! After the most powerful, eternity changing event that would ever happen, Jesus cooked for the disciples. This is amazing! How often have I felt like I should be waited on instead of being the one to serve? There is no one as good as Jesus. There is no one higher in authority, position or worthiness yet he humbled Himself and cooked breakfast and served others. He deserved to be on a throne with the disciples on their faces worshipping Him. What does His example teach me? It teaches me that He values humility and the willingness to serve. I see that just because someone has the right to be served doesn’t mean they have to take advantage of that. I think Jesus showed greater strength by choosing to serve when He could have demanded service. I ask myself if there is ever a time when serving is below me? No, in light of the example of Jesus, humility is always a powerful choice. “For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:10b (NIV) I confess there have been many times in my life when I avoided serving or chose the “easiest” job when in a serving situation. This shows a lack of understanding on my part. Pride is deceitful in all its forms including self-indulgence and self-protection at the expense of others.

I am so thankful that God never gives up on me! He continually guides us with His incredible patience. He keeps teaching and leading us. He doesn’t quit on us when we make selfish, sinful choices. He lets us learn from our mistakes and gives us grace. Father, thank you for forgiving me for so often having a heart of pride and for my lack of humility. I want to be more like you. I want to be willing to serve others in your name and with an attitude of love and joy. I love you Lord.

How can you serve someone else this week? The next time you are in a situation where you could serve but you are not obligated to do so, try volunteering. You might be surprised to find that you receive the greater blessing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Devotional, Faith, family, generosity, God, humility, inspirational, Obedience, service

Leave a Reply

