A Better Way to Live

S~ Then he said to them, ‘Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions’. Luke 12:15 (NIV)

But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God. Luke 12:20-21 (NIV)

Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will not be exhausted, where not thief comes near and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Luke 12:33-34 (NIV)

O~ Jesus continues to teach his disciples about money, possessions and greed. He gave several warnings against greed. He told a parable about a man who kept everything for himself only to die and leave it all behind. That is the thing; it is impossible for us to hold on to money and possessions. It is all temporary anyway. Anytime we use what we have to help someone or to give to the poor, then it becomes a deposit in a heavenly account that can never be lost. Treasure that can never be lost or stolen. Jesus said, ‘Watch out!’ Greed is a deceiver. It makes us think we are being smart, taking care of ourselves. It tells us we have a right to do what we want with what we have. It tells us to get all we can and hold on tight. But Jesus said that is not what life is about. Jesus tells us to be rich toward God.

A~ This is an area I have grown in but I still have so far to go! I am one who used to hold on tight to all I had. I confess that giving has been hard for me over the years though I have made progress by God’s grace. The truths of these scriptures grip my heart. My money and possessions are not what my life is about. All of this can be lost in an instant and will be lost when I die. Holding on to it all is an illusion. Throughout the Bible God makes it clear that giving to the poor is dear to His heart. This should be a part of every Christian’s life. I want to grow more in this. I want my treasure to be in heaven, where my heart should be.

P~ Father, thank you that you have patiently continually taught me about giving and have helped me to grow. Please open my eyes to see even more clearly what you want this to look like in my life. All I have is a gift from you. I did not earn any of what I have and I do not deserve it. It is all yours, Lord. Please use it for your glory. Help me to hold all I have with open hands up to you. Thank you that you have still loved me even in the times I was stingy. Thank you that you have loved me enough to keep teaching me a better way.

Read other SOAP notes here:

via September 29 Zechariah 4,5,6; Luke 12.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, church, Faith, generosity, God, Grace, inspirational, money, peace, relationships, SOAP

Leave a Reply

