Sorrow in my Heart

I have sorrow in my heart

for unexpected turns.

The outcomes

aren’t the ones I prayed for.

My expectations crumble to the ground.

My judgments of others turn and look at me.

What I wanted, what I hoped for

seems lost, seems denied.

These are things I cannot control.

Things I have no power over.

Choices others make.

The problem comes from my expectations, my dreams,

my picture of how things should be.

I am reminded that,

“Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” (Hebrews 11:1 ESV)

The battle is not over.

Faith is not giving up even when things look like defeat.

Faith is believing like Abraham who,

“Even when there was no hope, Abraham kept hoping…” (Romans 4:18a NLT)

Abraham believed even when all circumstances said what he looked for was impossible.

God my heart hurts when I see the circumstances,

yet my heart wants to hold on to hope.

I know you are Sovereign, You are good, and You are faithful

You hold all things in Your hands, even this.

 

This song sung by Unspoken speaks to my heart so clearly on this:

 

“Every sorrow, I leave it in Your hands
Every sickness, I leave it in Your hands
All my failures, I leave them in Your hands
Amen, I can leave it in Your hands

Every promise, I leave it in Your hands
Every healing, I leave it in Your hands
And my future, I leave it in Your hands
Amen, I can leave it in Your hands
I can leave it in Your hands”

 

Lord, I want to leave this sorrow in Your hands.

I am holding on to hope.

You can do anything.

You will answer all the prayers I have prayed.

You heard all my cries over the years.

They will not go unanswered.

I trust you, LORD God.

I trust that You will work out what is best.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, God, hope, inspirational, Jesus, life, peace, personal, prayer, struggles

2 responses to “Sorrow in my Heart

Leave a Reply

