Carry A Watering Can

S~ “Whoever brings blessing will be enriched, and one who waters will himself be watered.” Proverbs 11:25 (ESV)

O~ This verse paints a beautiful picture. The person who liberally blesses others, who has a generous soul, will himself be made fat, will be enriched, will prosper in his soul and the one who waters, who drenches others and waters them abundantly will himself have water poured down on him. (from word study at Blue Letter Bible- http://www.blueletterbible.org/search.cfm) I picture a person watering another while rain from heaven pours on her. She is watering others with blessings while God pours blessings on her soul. This is a basic principle also shown in 2 Corinthians 9:6 “But I say: He who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and he who sows bountifully will also reap bountifully.” (NKJV)

A~ I so easily forget this basic truth. I cannot out give God. When I give blessings to others, He always blesses me more than I can give. I am talking about blessings to the soul. Material things are not the true blessings. True blessings are joy, peace, wisdom, contentment and love. The more I show love to others, the more I am aware of His love towards me.

P~ Father, help me be a more generous woman. Generous with my time, my money, in being willing to bless others in whatever way possible. Help me to saturate others with grace and blessing.

Read more SOAP notes here:

via May 29 Proverbs 10,11,12; Romans 10.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Devotional, Faith, generosity, God, Grace, humility, Jesus, Journal, Obedience, Proverbs, SOAP

Leave a Reply

