Dirt Blocks the Light

This morning I wanted to look out my kitchen window to see the flowers I planted in the back yard.The sun was shining through the window and I couldn’t see clearly because the window was so dirty.

 

As I cleaned the window, the sun started to shine through more brightly. The more I cleaned, the brighter the sun was.

Image

 

Earlier this morning, God had convicted me of some sin in my life. Sin that contaminates my heart and keeps others from seeing His light shine through. As I cleaned the window, I realized it is the same way with my heart. When it is dirty with sin, unconfessed and unrepented from, it blocks the light. It is hard for others to see His light in a dirty heart. Just as I cleaned the window, I need to clean my heart with His word, through confession and prayer and through repentance. The more I let Him clean my heart, the more others can see His light shine through.

 

I don’t want to walk around with His light shining dimly through a dirty heart. I want to keep my heart clean so that His light can shine brightly.  Jesus, thank you for your love that saved me and has forgiven me. Please cleanse my heart and help me walk in your Spirit. Help me keep my heart clean. I can’t do it apart from you. Shine, Jesus, shine.

 

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16 (NIV)

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord.” Ephesians 5:8-10 (NIV)

Leave a comment

Filed under God, Jesus, personal, repentance, sin

Leave a Reply

