Jesus Marveled

Join us in SOAP. Read today’s passages and journal your thoughts. To read others journal entries click below:

April 21 1 Samuel 24; Psalm 57,58; 1 Chronicles 8; Matthew 8.

IMG_2143

Mine for today:

I Have Never Found Such Faith  | Susan Aken

S~ “The centurion answered and said, ‘Lord, I am not worthy that you should come under my roof. But only speak a word, and my servant will be healed. For I also am a man under authority, having soldiers under me, and I say to this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; and to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.’ When Jesus heard it, He marveled…” Matthew 8:8-10a (NKJV)

“But He said to them, ‘Why are you fearful, O you of little faith?’ Then He arose and rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm. So the men marveled, saying, ‘Who can this be that even the winds and the sea obey Him?’” (NKJV) Matthew 8:26-27

O~ In this chapter, Jesus notices the faith of a centurion (considered an enemy by the Jews) and the faith of His disciples (His closest friends and followers). He marvels at the faith of the Centurion who is not a follower of Jesus and has probably never met Him before. The Centurion understands that Jesus has authority over all of creation including disease. Jesus says, “I have never found such faith.” Then, His disciples, the people who knew Him better than anyone, the ones who have seen Him perform hundreds of miracles, these men are caught in a storm with Jesus and they think they are about to die. Jesus says, “Why are you fearful, you of little faith?” They didn’t understand that Jesus had all authority. Isn’t it amazing that this non-Jew who had never met Jesus had more faith than the disciples. The Centurion “got it”.

A~ Do I truly “get it”? Do I fully realize the authority and power of Jesus Christ? What would He say about my faith? Would He marvel at its strength or its weakness? How can my faith grow stronger? By meditating on who He is, by focusing on His strength not my weakness, by praying about everything instead of fretting. By choosing to trust and stepping out in faith.

P~ Jesus, I do believe you have all authority. I do trust you. But sometimes I take my eyes off of you and look at the problems. On my own, they are impossible to overcome but in you nothing is impossible. Please strengthen my faith.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Eternity, Faith, God, heaven, inspirational, Jesus, SOAP, truth

Leave a Reply

