An Empty Room – A Solid Rock

Truly my soul silently waits for God; From Him comes my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved…He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved.” Psalm 62:1-2,6

I love Psalm 62! “My soul silently waits for God”…just waiting to hear from Him, feeling His love, soaking in His presence and grace. “From Him comes my salvation.” He ONLY is my rock – I will not be moved. My expectation is from Him. (v.5)

I have been reflecting on the fact our 21-year-old son just moved into his own apartment. It is such a bittersweet time. It is not like when he went to college for a year and still came “home” on weekends. This is no longer his primary home. He moved everything. Bitter – because he won’t be here everyday, he won’t be sleeping here anymore and this is a turning point. A time of saying goodbye to what was and the start of a new chapter. Sweet – because it is right that he move out and live his own life. It is time. Sweet because now we will start a new chapter as empty nesters and all that means and he will enjoy the independence of living as an adult. As I re-read this scripture, “He only is my rock and my salvation,” I realized I am ok because God is the only one who is my rock. Not my son, not my husband and not any other person. My Rock never moves, never changes. He is always there. Because He is strong, I will not be moved, meaning to me that I will not fall; I will not be steered off course because of any event in my life. My God is the Rock who always keeps me secure.

Thank you Lord! Thank you that I can rejoice at all times knowing you are my strength and shield. I love you! Thank you for our son. May His journey be blessed. May He always look to you for guidance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, family, God, Jesus, life, my son, personal, relationships

Leave a Reply

