SOAP for March 3 — Numbers 32, 33; Mark 10

For more SOAP notes, click on this link…

March 3 Numbers 32, 33; Mark 10.

Me? A slave?

S~ “They said to Him, ‘Grant us that we may sit, one on your right hand and the other on your left in glory.’ …And when the ten heard it, they began to be greatly displeased with James and John. But Jesus called them to Himself and said to them, ‘You know that those who are considered rulers over the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones exercise authority over them. Yet it shall not be so among you; but whoever desires to become great among you shall be your servant. And whoever of you desires to be first shall be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve and to give His life a ransom for many.’” Mark 10:37,41-45 (NKJV)

O~ The 12 disciples have been traveling with Jesus, listening to Him, watching His miracles and they knew He was the Son of God. Yet they gave in to the temptation of pride and self-seeking. John and James asked Jesus to exalt them above the other 10. “Give us first place”, is what they were really asking. So, of course, the others were angry. This close to Jesus and they were struggling with jealousy and pride. Then Jesus teaches them something that is the opposite of how the world thinks. If you want to be first (and most of us do) then be the slave of all. What? Be everyone’s slave? But, how does that put me first? How does that take care of me? Jesus is showing them that His ways are the opposite of how the world thinks.

A~ It is hard to let go of taking care of “me” first. What if my needs aren’t met? What if (heaven forbid) I am last, go unnoticed, go hungry or am cold? I have to take care of “me”. Right? How does, being a slave, meet my needs? I think Jesus is asking, “Do you trust me to take care of you?” If I let go of taking care of me and leave that to Him, I am free to serve others. I can act as a servant, a slave, knowing my Master will meet every need. Is that easy for me? No. I still struggle with wanting to be first, wanting to take care of me, wanting to have the place of honor. But Jesus is teaching me. Perhaps He is helping me let go one finger at a time.

P~ Jesus, Thank you for the example you gave us. Thank you that you were willing to give up everything to serve and die for us. You did exactly this. You became the slave of all, even to the point of dying a criminal’s death and your name is now exalted above every name. Help me trust you more, Jesus. Help me trust you with my needs so that I can forget myself in serving others. How do you want me to serve today?

For more SOAP notes, click on this link…

March 3 Numbers 32, 33; Mark 10.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Faith, fear, God, Holy Spirit, hope, Jesus, salvation, SOAP

Leave a Reply

