Trust the One Who Owns it All

 “Abram said to the king of Sodom, ‘I have sworn to the LORD God Most High, Possessor of heaven and earth.’” Genesis 14:22 (NASB)

When I woke up this morning, before I did my Bible reading, I was thinking about how God owns everything. Literally, every single thing that exists, good and bad, belongs to Him and is under His authority. I was meditating on that and thinking about how could I ever worry or fear knowing this? Since all belongs to Him and He is the Supreme Authority, He has the power to do whatever He wants. (Yet He chooses to give us free will – the freedom to choose) The Centurion in Matthew 8:8-9 realized this. “The Centurion answered and said, ‘Lord, I am not worthy that you should come under my roof. But only speak a word, and my servant will be healed. For I also am a man under authority, having soldiers under me. And I say to this one,’Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes’ and to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.‘” The Centurion knew that even sickness is subject to Jesus. He also understood that all of creation must obey God if He commands it. So, if God allows evil, if He allows humans to choose to do evil, we have to trust His Holy character and His All-knowing Wisdom. (only by allowing us free will can we truly love for love must be a choice) When I read this scripture, where Abram refers to God as “Possessor” of all (some translations read, “Creator”. In the original language, the words means, “to get, acquire, create, possess). This verse confirmed what God was speaking to my heart. “Trust Me as Creator and Possessor of every single thing that exists.” Just think. We can come to this great LORD Most High, Possessor of all, anytime, any place and talk to Him about anything and ask Him for anything. We just need to trust His Sovereign will.

LORD God Almighty, I praise Your Holy name. Thank You for creating me. Thank You for sending Jesus to make it possible to come to You anytime, anywhere. Help me to trust You as Owner and Creator of all things. Help me to talk to You about everything and trust You for the best answer.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Faith, God, hope, inspirational, life, peace, personal

Leave a Reply

