Be a “Do-Gooder”

Scripture – “Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.” I Timothy 6:18-19

“…a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.” Titus 2:14

Remind people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good.” Titus 3:1

And I want you to stress these things, so that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good…” Titus 3:8

Our people must learn to devote themselves to doing what is good” Titus 3:14

(Emphasis mine. All NIV)

Observation – Five times Paul emphasizes, “Doing good” in today’s reading. Three time in one chapter. “Doing what is good.” What would that be? What is good besides doing God’s will? God’s will is that we love Him and love others. That we be kind, compassionate, forgiving and generous. That we meet the needs of the poor and of other believers. That we share His love and the gospel of Jesus Christ. That we live for Him and not for ourselves. “Be rich” in good deeds. Be eager (burning with zeal) to do what is good. Be ready; be devoted. These words show not a casual desire to do good but a commitment, devotion, a burning desire. It should be a huge part of who we are as Christians.

Application – Is this true of me? Is it my burning desire to “do good”? Am I ready and eager to do good? Sometimes, but too often I am thinking of myself and what I want. How much time do I spend thinking about myself compared to thinking about others?

Prayer – Jesus, Please change my heart. Help me love the way you want me to. Please lead me to self-forgetfulness. Help me forget myself in serving others. I want to be a “do-gooder” out of love for you. I want to be devoted to good works, to doing what pleases you. I can’t do that in my own strength. Please Holy Spirit, work through me.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, God, inspirational, relationships, service

Leave a Reply

