CHOSEN

“For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.” Ephesians 1:4

He – Almighty God, the Great I AM, the Creator of all that exists

Chose – picked, wanted, sought

Us – the faithful in Christ Jesus (v.1), those who have placed their faith in Jesus Christ, He chose me – I believe and trust in Jesus.

in him – in Christ “...the Lamb that was slain from the creation of the world.” Rev. 13:8 It was always God’s plan to redeem us through Christ

Before the creation of the world – Before anything in our universe was created: Before earth, sun, moon, stars, oceans, animals or mankind even existed

HOLD IT: He chose ME  – BEFORE the creation of the world. My finite mind can’t grasp that. Jesus’ death for our sins was a done deal before Adam and Eve even existed. Contemplate that!

to be holy – Who me?

and blameless – I am certainly not blameless

in His sight; before the face of; in the sight of; before the presence of (Greek lexicon) God sees me, He sees anyone in Christ as holy and blameless. He sees us through the shed blood of Christ. He sees the righteousness of Christ covering us, covering our sin.

Blows. Me. Away.

If I could only grasp the extent of His grace!

I stand in awe before you my Lord, my savior, Almighty God. Thank you for loving us that much!

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Faith, God, Grace, Jesus, salvation, sin, Thankfulness

4 responses to “CHOSEN

  1. Wow! Thank you for leading me into worship of Him this morning.

    Like

  2. Isn’t He awesome! God bless you Janet. I am glad it led you to worship.

    Like

  3. God’s grace is so incomprehensible! The only response I can give is surrender. 🙂 Which shouldn’t be hard (although sometimes it is) since I’m surrendering to the God who loved me so much He died for me.

    Loved how you broke down that verse and encouraged us to really digest it.

    Like

  4. Jennifer, Thanks for your constant encouragement and support. You are a great friend and sister in Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

