I Believe – Overcoming Doubt

Once again I am participating in a Proverbs 31 Ministries online Bible study. This one is “A Confident Heart.” This is my blog for week one.

I read God’s word and see that He has called me to live a life of faith and to walk in the power of His Holy Spirit. I read about how others have done this and I am inspired. But doubts come:

     I doubt that I can really change. The thought comes to me, “If you haven’t changed by now, you might as well forget it.”

The truth is: I believe He as already changed me! His word says I am a new creation. He chose me before the beginning of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. All things are possible with God. And in truth, I am not where I used to be. I may not be where I want to be but I have grown, I have changed. I am not the same person. Growth comes step-by-step. (2 Corinthians 5:17, Ephesians 1:4)

     I doubt that I have as much to offer as others. I doubt that my gifts are as good as theirs. I am not as talented, gifted, wise or don’t have as good of a personality. So, how can I compete?

The truth is: I believe God knit me together in my mother’s womb. He made me the way He wanted me to be and he doesn’t make junk. I believe He places each one in the body where He wants us to be. The Holy Spirit gives gifts as He sees fit. All gifts are from God therefore all gifts are good. How can I call what God made not good enough? How can I (the “pot”) question how the potter made me? Do I really want to complain to the Holy Spirit about the gifts He chose to give me? I believe God has given me His best and all for His glory.  As for competition, I believe we were created to work together in harmony and unity like the body. No person or “part” is more important than another. We are not in competition. “But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, but one body.” I Corinthians 12:18-20 (Psalm 139:13, James 1:17; Romans 9:20-21, Isaiah 29:16, Philippians 2:3-4, Galatians 6:4, Galatians 5:14-15)

potters_wheel_clay_sculpt

Sometimes I doubt my abilities, my intelligence or that I am capable enough in certain situations. (I know this sounds like the previous doubt but it is different.)

The truth is: I believe it is not about me anyway! God wants to do the work through me. The Holy Spirit will give me the words I need when I need them. It is not about me getting praise, recognition or being thought capable. It is all about God and giving Him glory. In fact, I should glory in my weakness and say with Paul, “I delight in weaknesses….For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:10 (Philippians 2:13, Luke 12:11-12, I Corinthians 10:13)

Then there is the trap of the “absolutes”.  I will never overcome _______. I always _______.  God will never use me to ______.

The truth is: I believe all things are possible with God. He will accomplish His purpose in me and in the world. His plans cannot be thwarted.  “The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me.” Psalm 138:8 (Matthew 19:26, Luke 1:37, Job 42:2)

   Thank you Father that your truth overcomes my doubts!

 P31 OBS Blog Hop

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Faith, God, hope, inspirational, personal

4 responses to “I Believe – Overcoming Doubt

  1. Loved your blog and that we all have talents and gifts that God can use when we allow Him to use us for His glory and will provide what to do and say when we are available to be used by Him. Thanks sharing a great post.
    Marilyn V (OBS Group Leader)

    Like

  2. Thanks Marilyn! And thanks for reading.

    Like

  3. Susan, what an encouraging post! Thanks for building my faith this morning! Seriously…I need to print this out and read it daily 🙂 Your words bless me! So honored to do OBS with you, my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

