Distracted

 Distracted – this could be the byword of today’s world. How could there be more distractions than we have today? Busy schedules, television, movies, phones, Internet, music, games, social media (all of which we can carry with us 24/7!) All of these things give us opportunities people have never had before and there are good things about them. But what have we lost? This was part of my Bible reading the other morning:

“As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, ‘Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!’  “Martha, Martha,’ the Lord answered, ‘you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.’” Luke 10:38-42 (NIV) Emphasis mine

Martha opened her home to Jesus, which is a great thing to do. We could do no better than to invite Jesus into our home, our heart.  But then she was distracted. She invited him in but then did not give him her attention or focus. She focused on things around her: preparations, what Mary was doing, expectations and she forgot Jesus. Then she went to the Lord Jesus who was in her home teaching and she complained to him. She told him what to do. She had decided what was important. Instead of listening to and loving the Lord, she complained to him. Jesus pointed out to her that she was worried and upset about many things. It wasn’t just the meal. Her mind was focused on everything but her Lord. Jesus told her, “…One thing is needed.” Mary had chosen that “one thing.” She was focused on Jesus, she was listening to him and she was not distracted. Jesus wasn’t saying it was wrong for Martha to be preparing the meal. We can be going about our work and still be focused on him in our hearts.

I have invited Jesus into my life. He lives in the home of my heart. But how often am I distracted and forget he is there? How often do I get worried and upset about many things and forget to listen to Him? He is always right there. He wants my focus and attention. He wants me to listen to him. In fact, he says that is the “one thing” that is needed. To love him, listen to him and stay focused on him.  As I said earlier, being distracted is easier than ever in our world. It is easy to arrange our lives so that we never have a quiet moment, so that we never hear the still, small voice. But what are we losing in the process? How God longs for us to hear and respond to his voice.

     Lord Jesus, how I rejoice that you live in me. I belong to you. You love me! I want to live so that whatever I am doing, in my heart I am at your feet, listening to you. I want to live in a spirit of worship.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, God, Jesus, Obedience, peace

Leave a Reply

