Blinded By Riches

“They will throw their silver into the streets and their gold will be an unclean thing. Their silver and gold will not be able to save them in the day of the LORD’s wrath. They will not satisfy their hunger or fill their stomach’s with it, for it has made them stumble into sin.” Ezekiel 7:19

“You say, ‘I am rich, I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.” Revelation 3:17

Throughout the history of mankind, money has been a test and a snare. When we get rich and are physically satisfied, we are in danger of thinking we are set for life. We have all we need. And we don’t see it is all an illusion. We have nothing without God. If we are not walking with Him, we are poor, blind and naked. We are here on earth such a brief time. After that is eternity. E T E R N I T Y, endless time, that is where our riches need to be. Thank God, when we know Him, He disciplines us (Revelation 3:19). He is always there calling, “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him and he with me.” Revelation 3:20 He is always calling either to come to him for salvation or to return to Him for fellowship. All we have to do is say yes.

How am I handling the test of riches? (Yes, I am rich most Americans are.) Am I letting riches blind me? Do I think I am full and satisfied when I am really empty? I want to live a life that is truly life. “Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant or to put their hope in wealth…. Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they can take hold of the life that is truly life.” I Timothy 6:17-19 (Bold print added) I confess that I am not naturally generous. But by the work of God’s Holy Spirit in me, I can be. I want to be.

     Father, please, I want you to live and reign in my life. I want you to come in and eat with me and me with you. I don’t want to let riches blind me and rob me of true life. Please open my eyes to see how to do this. Open my eyes to see how you want me to handle what I have. Open my eyes to see how much I need you every minute of every day and that without you I have nothing. I love you. May your will be done in me.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, Devotional, God, heaven, Holy Spirit, money, Obedience, personal, repentance

2 responses to “Blinded By Riches

  1. Savannah mom

    nice blog. We really are rich, and we are rich with the gifts God gives us. Those are the “real” riches.

    Like

  2. So true Savannah! Thanks for reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

