My Heart’s Cry

 

I really get tired of feeling sorry for myself. So what, I am sick. So, I don’t get to do all that I want to do. What does God want? That is the question.  What is He saying to me in all this? I fight laziness, self-pity, taking the easy way, complaining. I want to learn to live in praise, thankfulness, sacrificing, giving, living for Him above all. I want to trust that whatever God allows in each day is for His ultimate purpose and plan. I want to yield not resist. I want to embrace the moment. I want to let go of what I can’t control. I want to hold all that is in my life with open hands lifted up. Not clinging, not clutching, not desperately trying to control what doesn’t really belong to me anyway. I want to step out and trust and obey Him without weighing the pros and cons and trying to decide if I can handle the cost. I want to go all-in. put everything I have, everything I am, and everything I can be in His hands and let go. Instead of physical comfort, I want to seek living bread, instead of the illusion of control, I want to seek the freedom of free-falling into His loving arms, instead of holding on tight to what I think are my treasures, I want to let go and allow Him to give me riches I can’t imagine. When my last day comes, I don’t want to regret that I didn’t trust Him more. I don’t want to regret that I did not obey when I heard His voice. I want to hear Him say, “Well, done.” I know my soul is His forever. I praise Him for that. But I want to know that I spent more of my life laying up treasures and rewards in heaven than I did seeking temporary rewards down here. Father, please help me day by day make the choices that will allow me say I finished the work you gave me to do. May my life be pleasing to You.

2 Comments

Filed under God, Obedience, personal

2 responses to “My Heart’s Cry

  1. joni tyner

    great post Susan. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

