Wake Up My Ears

“The Sovereign LORD has given me an instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught. The Sovereign LORD has opened my ears, and I have not been rebellious; I have not drawn back.” Isaiah 50:4-5

5f27e512-c839-495e-90ce-94d6af1cd6f1

Our LORD is Sovereign. He is the supreme authority. He is the one who rules over all that exists. Nothing and no one is over Him. Here, Isaiah says that the LORD has given him an “instructed tongue”; the LORD taught him what to say and gave him words to comfort the weary. How did Isaiah get the message? He listened. The LORD woke him up each morning and woke up his ears to listen like one being taught. He listened like a student listens to his teacher. I love this picture of the LORD waking my ears up. I sure need it sometimes. Do you find yourself so immersed in our noisy world that you don’t really hear? I think our ears grow numb from so much input. Sometimes I don’t even really hear what people around me are saying. Oh, I hear the words but I don’t really listen with my heart. I find myself listening with a distracted mind, which causes me not to really hear. In fact, with the ability to carry with me access to the Internet, texting, Facebook, Kindle etc., it is possible to keep my mind distracted every waking moment and in the process my ears go to sleep. I think when we really listen we will find that God is often speaking to us. He speaks through His word, through nature, through other people, in our pain, in our joy, in what we gain and what we lose. And He is always available for us to talk to, to love and we can ask Him anything. How often have I missed what He was saying because I let my ears go to sleep and my mind grow numb?

I want the LORD to open my ears. I want to be willing to hear all He has to say. If I want to hear Him, I need to spend time quietly listening. I need to have times when my focus is just on Him. When I first wake up in the morning, I can let Him open my ears so I can hear what He wants to say about my day. I can read His word with an open heart ready to hear from Him.  I have to confess that there are times I choose not to listen because I want to do my own thing. I call it freedom but Isaiah calls it being rebellious. When He speaks to me, I want to move towards Him not away from Him.

     Thank you, LORD, that you love me enough to want to speak to me. That is amazing! You, Almighty God, love me. I am so thankful Jesus made it possible for me to come to you and talk to you. Please keep my ears awake. Help me to hear you whenever you speak. Enable me to respond with obedience and love. I want to seek you not run away from you. I love you Father. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, God, Isaiah

Leave a Reply

