Your Story Matters

   I recently returned from a mission trip to Montego Bay, Jamaica.

946642_631343870209047_148833868_n 

 There were many ways God blessed me on this trip but one of the greatest ways was in hearing people’s stories. There were 28 people in our group and many of them I did not know before we left. During the week, I was able to get to know people and hear their stories. Each night we would gather in a circle and each person would share their “God sighting” for that day. That was so encouraging! But I also had the opportunity to talk to people one-on-one and hear the details of their stories. I realized that we don’t connect to someone on a deep level until we know his or her story. There is such power in sharing our stories with each other! I am not a huge talker and I am sorry to say I don’t often share the details of my story with others. But I want that to change. I want to ask others to tell me their story and I want to take the opportunity to share mine. After I returned, I found this plaque at a store.

IMG_1850

     I want to be reminded of this every day. In my devotion this morning, this verse stood out.

“Let the redeemed of the LORD tell their story – those he redeemed from the hand of the foe.” Psalm 107:2 (NIV)

Most of the other versions say, “Let the redeemed of the LORD say so.”  But I love the NIV version, which says, “tell their story.” Whatever your story is, others need to hear it. Each one of us has a unique story that God wants to use to encourage others, comfort them, warn them, teach them or inspire them. Telling each other our stories also allows us to connect on a deeper level. Will you join me in praying that we will take the opportunities God gives us to share?

Father, thank you that each person has a unique story. No other person has a story exactly like mine. Please give me the boldness and desire to share my story with others. Will you give me an opportunity today to share the story you have given me? Also, help me to be willing to ask for and listen to others tell their stories. Thank you LORD!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, inspirational, personal, relationships

Leave a Reply

