Mother’s Day Without You

It’s Mother’s Day

and you are gone.

How can I reach out to you?

I want to call you up,

give you flowers,

say what you mean to me.

I want to tell you again,

“I love you.”

Thank you for all you’ve been to me.

Instead I have this ache in my heart,

an emptiness…

I won’t see you on earth again.

The pain is deep,

it cuts my heart,

yet there is no despair.

What joy to know

someday I’ll see

your face again

perfect as it should be.

In heaven complete,

pure and whole,

never to part again.

(In memory of Liz Spencer)

 “Where, O death, is your victory?  Where, O death, is your sting?”

I Corinthians 15:55

Excerpt from “Butterflies, Biscuits and Rain” by Susan Aken. Available as a free e-book at:

(http://www.lulu.com/shop/susan-aken/butterflies-biscuits-and-rain/ebook/product-17544507.html)

Leave a comment

Filed under Butterflies Biscuits and Rain, death, Faith, family, heaven

Leave a Reply

