Will I Seek Rewards from Men or from God?

Father, this flesh demands to be noticed. I know it is a struggle I will face as long as I live in this earthly tent. Please give me the strength to resist. Empower me Lord, to say no to the insatiable thirst for praise and notice from people. Help me instead to look to you the author and finisher of my faith. Help me submit to you. Help me to live only to please you, my Lord and my God.

How often are we seeking notice for ourselves?

How many of us are thinking of how to promote other people?

Who is like Jonathan?

He was so willing to let David have the praise.

He knew exalting David probably meant he would never be king yet he still lifted David up above himself. He wasn’t jealous of David, he loved him. He willingly let David have the place of honor.

Would I do that?

If I had been in Jonathan’s place, would I have burned with jealousy?

I fear so.

I confess that in my flesh, I want praise; I want notice; I want people to like me (both in life and on FB).

Matthew 6:1 says, “Be careful not to do your acts of righteousness before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.”

Is the praise or notice of men truly the only reward I want? Because it is a very fleeting and shaky reward. Why not seek to please the one whose rewards are eternal? If I live to please God and do what I do only with the motive to please Him, His rewards are in heaven and nothing can take them away.

Please Father, help me to live to please you and not to worry about what people think. Pleasing you is my reward. Thank you that you love me and your love never changes. Thank you that you love me enough to show me when I am wrong. Help me in this daily battle Lord! I need you. I worship you. Please let your will be done in me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, God, heaven, humility, Jesus, relationships, struggles

Leave a Reply

