Let Your Light Shine

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on a stand and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”  Matthew 5:14-16

Jesus is teaching his disciples in the Sermon on the Mount. He tells them they are the light of the world. His followers are the light of the world. A light is not meant to be hidden but to be put where everyone can see. In the same way, we are to let our light shine for the purpose of bringing glory to God. The goal is not to draw attention to us but to bring praise to God.

  I am to let my light shine. Jesus says I am a light to the world. Why do I so often hide? I am to let it shine for all to see, to let them see my good deeds. The purpose of light in me is to bring praise to God.  How can I let my light shine today? What is the balance between letting others see my good deeds and bragging? I guess one test is who is getting the praise.  May all praise go to our LORD!

Dear LORD God, my creator, my King; I praise your holy name. You are worthy of all praise and glory. Thank you Jesus for putting your light in me.  Please help me let that light shine today. You are the light in me. Let your light shine in my life today. Show me how to do that and please, Father, let all glory go to your name. Help me live in a way that causes others to praise your name.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Devotional, God, Jesus, Obedience, relationships

Leave a Reply

