Offering a Sacrifice of Thanks

“Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God and keep the vows you made to the Most High.” Psalm 50:14 (NLT)

“But giving thanks is a sacrifice that truly honors me. If you keep to my path, I will reveal to you the salvation of God.” Psalm 50:23 (NLT)

“I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.” Psalm 34:1 (ESV)

Giving thanks to God is a vital part of walking with Him. It is essential to pleasing Him. God wants us to live in continual praise and thanksgiving to Him.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” I Thessalonians 5:16-18

He wants us to offer our hearts and lives as a sacrifice of thanksgiving and praise, to thank Him always and be grateful.

Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise-the fruit of lips that confess his name. And do not forget to do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.” Hebrews 13:15-16

It pleases Him when we acknowledge that all we are thankful for is a gift from Him. He wants our hearts to be full of songs of praise to Him.

“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.” Colossians 3:15-16

 

Why is it a sacrifice to give thanks? We sacrifice our fleshly desire to sin, to complain, to grumble, to covet, to demand our own way. We submit to His will by offering praise and thankfulness for things as they are. My own flesh loves to complain about the daily discomforts and trials of life. I find myself grumbling about every inconvenience, about anything that seems to block me from what I want to do. My flesh likes throwing “pity parties” at which I meditate on all the injustices of my life. I don’t like it when I don’t get my way. I get jealous when I see others get what I want. To walk in thankfulness and praise means I have to deny the flesh these indulgences. I have to sacrifice these “rights”. I have to sacrifice my rights and instead give thanks to God and praise him no matter what. That is my opinion as to why continual thankfulness is a sacrifice to God.

I have far to go to get to the place where I continually offer thanks and praise to God. I am so often filled with discontent, complaints and ingratitude. But I want to seek each day to grow closer to that place. I pray I will increase my thankfulness day by day.

     Lord, please show me how to get to this place. Will you help me offer the sacrifice of thanksgiving? It is through you my Lord Jesus, through you alone that I can continually offer praise. I rely on you to give me the power and the strength to live in this way.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Devotional, God, prayer, Thankfulness

One response to “Offering a Sacrifice of Thanks

  1. I don’t want to just write about this. I want to live it. Will you pray for me that I can live this truth?

    Like

Leave a Reply

