Thoughts on Aging, Health and True Fitness

I had a physical recently and found out that my cholesterol is elevated and if it is not better by next year, my doctor would recommend cholesterol drugs. I was surprised because I would have said that I am very healthy (and I am except for that). But I have also struggled with the whole aging thing and knowing that I need to take care of myself. I tend to have a very sedentary lifestyle. So, I have resolved to walk regularly and eat more fruits and vegetables. I usually won’t say this out loud but here it is in writing – this fall I will turn 60 years old.  Why does that sound so shocking to me? I guess because the years have gone by so fast. I was thinking as I walked this morning that I would like to have a goal that I will be in the best shape I have ever been by the day of my 60th birthday. That is a good goal but then what. Well, I will still grow old and die. Whatever I do for physical health is good but it is also temporary. I think of what Paul said, For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding the promise for both the present life and the life to come.” I Timothy 4:8 

Spiritual fitness has value for all of eternity! Think of that! Whatever I do to be spiritually fit has eternal impact. It benefits me today and will benefit me in heaven. So, yes I want to exercise and eat healthy foods but even more I want to immerse myself in the living word of God, I want to walk in communion with Him, talking to Him about everything and I want to take action on what He shows me giving my life to serve Him by serving others. Will I invest in time to improve my physical health? Yes. But even more I want to invest my time in my spiritual health. If I am willing to invest in the temporary, why would I not invest in the eternal?

Father, thank you for the gift of physical health but even more I want to be healthy in my soul and spirit. I can’t do that on my own. Please help me to give you my time, my thoughts and my willingness to obey what you call me to do. Thank you for your unfailing love!

4 Comments

Filed under aging, Bible, Faith, food, God, health, heaven, Jesus, life, Obedience, personal

4 responses to “Thoughts on Aging, Health and True Fitness

  1. Pam

    Susan,
    This is an awesome devotional! You’v challenged me again……I have had some thoughts about turning 60…..wanting to be the best I can be by then. But you reminded me spiritual discipline is more important…..both need to be pursued at same time.
    I hope your cholesterol responds. Love Pam 🙂

    Like

  2. Great post. Love you Sister!

    Like

Leave a Reply

