Indulge in This Fruit!

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23

Paul has been writing about living by the Holy Spirit vs. living by the flesh. He describes living in the Holy Spirit here and points out there is no law against the fruit of the Holy Spirit. This means we are free in the Spirit to produce these things. We ca indulge in love, joy…patience…kindness…self-control. We are free to live as much of these as we want. The BEST things of life we are free to indulge in!

Do I indulge in love? Joy? Patience? Kindness? Self-Control? I never have to limit these things. They can be produced bountifully. I should never resist these fruits but indulge in them. How can I indulge in joy today?

Thank you Jesus that the things that matter most in life – that which brings real life – are gifts of your Holy Spirit and can be freely indulged in. Please help me indulge in your fruit today. Help me love extravagantly. Help me be ridiculous in joy, abundant in kindness, outlandishly full of peace. Thank you for filling us with the gift and power of your Holy Spirit. Help me yield to Him without restraint as I resist my flesh!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Faith, Holy Spirit, hope, inspirational, Jesus, love

Leave a Reply

