Remember to Praise God

“When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the LORD your God for the good land he has given you. Be careful that you do not forget the LORD your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws and his decrees that I am giving you this day. Otherwise, when you eat and are satisfied, when you build fine houses and settle down, and when your herds and flocks grow large and your silver and gold  increase and all you have is multiplied, then your heart will become proud and you will forget the LORD your God…” Deuteronomy 8:10-14

When we are full, satisfied in life, the temptation, the tendency of our flesh is to forget God. To forget His commands and become proud. When we forget God, we become proud.

I have eaten and I am satisfied. I have a fine house and good finances. I must be on guard against pride. I cannot forget the LORD my God who gave me all I am and all I have. I must not forget! I need to praise Him continually! Praise Him for His gifts! I need to follow Him remembering that everything is a gift from Him, including the ability to work and earn income. I will praise Him for all He has given to me!

How I praise you Dear Heavenly Father! Thank you for giving me every good thing! You are so  awesome! Thank you for my health, for meeting all my needs, for our home, my family, our jobs…thank you for this good life! Father, I confess I have sinned by thinking I was lacking, for feeling sorry for myself, for forgetting you have blessed me beyond measure. I praise you my LORD and my God! You have given me everything I need. I lack nothing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Faith, God, prayer, Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

