Speak Life or Speak Death

“The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.” Proverbs 18:21

Some people love to use the power of their tongue. Proverbs says they need to be aware they will harvest the fruit that comes from how they use that power. I know of someone who is using that power to tear down and abuse those who are close, those who should be most protected. What will the fruit of that destruction be? In that situation, the destruction is obvious. But how often do I use my tongue to indulge my own selfishness because I am impatient, tired or frustrated?

LORD, please help me remember the power my tongue has! I can use my words to encourage and build someone up or I can use it to discourage and tear them down. I am sorry I am sometimes so selfish and indulge my own anger and frustration. Please God, help me put a guard on my tongue and choose my words wisely. Help me to think about what the fruit of my words will be. Help me to ask, “What effect will words have on the one or ones who are listening?” Please help my  words and thoughts be pleasing to you Lord.

Leave a comment

Filed under God, personal, Proverbs, relationships, speech, tongue, words

Leave a Reply

