What is Christianity?

So many think Christianity is about rules, church,

pleasing people (the pastor, youth minister, parents)

or a list of don’ts.

 Do you know what it is?

Being saved means:

I am starving and Jesus says,

“I am the bread of life.”

 I am stumbling around in total darkness and Jesus says,

“I am the light.”

 I am lost in a forest and Jesus says,

 “I am the way.”

 I am sick and Jesus says,

 “I am the great healer.”

 I am deceived and trapped by lies and Jesus says,

“I am the truth.”

 I am a dead woman and Jesus says,

“I am the life.”

That is what salvation means.

 Not keeping rules, but a dead man finding life.

Not playing a part, but a starving woman finding food.

 Not pleasing people, but a person lost in the darkness finding light.

  “I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever.” John 6:51 (Jesus Christ)

Excerpt from “Butterflies, Biscuits and Rain” by Susan Aken. Available as a free e-book at:

(http://www.lulu.com/shop/susan-aken/butterflies-biscuits-and-rain/ebook/product-17544507.html)

Leave a comment

Filed under Butterflies Biscuits and Rain, Christianity, Faith, forgiveness, God, Grace, Jesus, salvation

Leave a Reply

