Hope….Even When it Seems Hopeless

“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (Jesus Christ)  John 16:33

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” (Jesus Christ) Matthew 11:28-30

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” John 14:6

“For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.” Romans 8:24-25

IS THERE ANY HOPE?

Life is so hard.

Marriages broken.

Marriages full of pain.

Children in rebellion.

Children hurting themselves.

Senseless murders.

Fear in the streets.

Jobs lost.

Finances in ruin.

Loved ones lost to death.

Parents aging.

We are aging.

Chronic illness.

Chronic pain.

Terminal disease.

Dreams die.

Addictions abound.

Perversity reigns.

War threatens.

Is there no end?

Where is the safety?

Where is the “happily ever after”?

Will it ever come?

Not on this earth.

Here we groan in labor.

Here we are under the curse of sin.

Only in heaven will we know

the happy ever after we long for.

God will make all things right.

In heaven, there will be no more pain for all eternity.

Jesus came to show us the way to that paradise.

We must follow Him.

There is no other way.

We cannot make our own way to heaven.

Jesus said, “I am the way…” the only way.

Jesus offers…

Grace for today.

Eternal security.

Treasure in heaven.

Forgiveness for sin.

Hope for tomorrow.

Comfort in sorrow.

Peace in pain.

Strength in weakness.

Perfect love.

Thanksgiving for worry.

Faith for fear.

Mansions above.

Victory below.

His presence always.

How?

We give Him our heart.

All we are.

All we hope to be.

We yield our will to Him.

To His grace, His truth.

We believe, confess, repent and follow.

The only way to life.

Reflection

Do you ever feel hopeless?

 

Turn to Jesus; He will help you see you do have hope!

 

Prayer for today:

     Jesus, sometimes this world is such a painful place to be. Thank You that You came to show us there is hope! Help me to keep my focus on things above where You are seated with the Father. I want You to have all of me. I yield to Your authority, Your grace, and Your truth. Please work Your will through me and fill my heart with Your joy and peace.

Excerpt from Amazing Hope: A 40-day Devotional by Susan Aken (available as a free e-book (http://www.lulu.com/shop/susan-aken/amazing-hope-reflections-on-hope-in-the-midst-of-a-crazy-world/ebook/product-17559897.html)

2 Comments

Filed under hope, Jesus, salvation, sin, struggles, suffering, truth

2 responses to “Hope….Even When it Seems Hopeless

  1. Thanks for helping me to center my thoughts, heart, and hopes on Christ and His promise of eternity. 🙂

    Like

    • I pray God will bless and strengthen you today Jen. I can’t imagine having the continual physical struggles you do. It must be very difficult not to get discouraged. I pray He will give you the grace you need for the moment but also that He will soon give you relief.

      Like

Leave a Reply

