Speak Healing and Hope

“From the fruit of his lips a man is filled with good things as surely as the work of his hands reward him.” Proverbs 12:14

“Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. Truthful lips endure forever, but a lying tongue lasts only a moment.” Proverbs 12:18-19

“The LORD detests lying lips, but he delights in men who are truthful.” Proverbs 12:22

“An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up.” Proverbs 12:25

Proverbs continues to teach so much about the words we choose. We reap good things from the fruit of our lips. When we speak wise and good things, we will see good come from it. The words of a wise person brings healing and kind words can cheer up those who are anxious. The LORD delights in those who are truthful. Of all the words I speak, how many bring healing? How many are kind? How many are truthful? I think of how many words I speak that are complaints, grumblings, negative, critical, judging, gossiping. What fruit comes from those? Do those words cheer anyone? Help anyone? Heal anyone? No. Oh, that the majority of my words would be kind, helpful and truthful! I want to delight the LORD! Am I truthful? What I fear is that I will just stay the same. That I will get up from the computer and go my way and forget this truth. My hope is that today I will deliberately choose to speak kind words to at least one person who is anxious and that I will be aware of whether or not I am being truthful.

LORD, Please show me any way I am not being truthful. Help me to stop “managing” what I say in a way that manages others perception of me. Show me what you mean when you say you delight in those who are truthful. Help me also to be kind in what I say. Not only with my words but in my tone of voice and my facial expressions. Help me convey kindness to others. Please give me wisdom so that I can speak words that heal. Help me to begin with those I love the most. Thank you dear LORD that you are always kind and loving towards me. You speak to me words that give me healing and hope. Please let your love show through me.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, relationships, truth

Leave a Reply

