Pour Water on Dry Souls

“Whoever brings blessing will be enriched, and one who waters will himself be watered.” Proverbs 11:25 (ESV)

“A man who is kind benefits himself, but a cruel man hurts himself.” Proverbs 11:17 (ESV)

Proverbs continually shows that the person who focuses on others, who is generous and kind will be blessed. The one who brings blessings to others, who gives, who is generous will be enriched. When we water others by encouraging them, giving words that bring life, meeting needs, seeing them and loving them we ourselves will be watered and encouraged. Focusing totally on self causes us to dry up. Focusing on others and giving to them is like pouring water on a dry plant. I can get things so turned around. I get focused on self and I think I need to take care of “me”. It is only by giving that I truly have my needs met. I am made in the image of Almighty God. He is a giver, a creator , a lover. In my spirit, that is what I am created to be. I  am (we are)  made to give, to encourage, to lift others up in word and deed.

Father, Thank you for creating us in your image. You are awesome! I want to be more like you. I want to be a giver. I want to be one who sees others and lifts them up. You always take care of me, Lord. Help me to give myself to help take care of others.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Devotional, generosity, relationships

Leave a Reply

