Hope…Sometimes Answered with a Miracle: My Story

IMG_3188

“I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of Him.”

I Samuel 1:27

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.” Proverbs 13:12

“Sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from Him.”

Psalm 127:3

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

ONE WOMAN’S STORY

(A true story)

She had always wanted a child

from the time she held her dolls.

Home, husband and children,

these were the goals in mind.

But, as time went by her dreams didn’t come

the way she thought they would.

At twenty-seven, she began to think

 maybe marriage was not God’s plan.

So, she yielded her will to God above

and placed it in His hands.

At twenty-nine, God answered her prayer

 in an unexpected way.

She married with joy, ready to begin the family

 she always had in mind.

But, she soon learned that her ideas didn’t match

with the one she loved.

Plans of children were postponed and

 it seemed they would never come.

This desire was blocked again and again

until one day at thirty-nine she saw it might never come.

So, as before, she yielded it to the Lord,

“My heart is Yours.

I yield to You my desire for a child.

Show me the way, dear Lord.”

One day, as she faced the truth

 that a child might not be the plan,

the phone rang and a miracle came

beyond all she could have planned.

A doctor said,

“There is a baby boy who needs a home today.”

In less than a day, God sent her way

a miracle in a baby boy!

In a way unexpected,

in a way undeserved,

in a way only God can do!

He fulfilled her desire.

Her hope came true.

Her heart was filled with praise!

Reflection

Are you hoping for a miracle in your life?

Yield your desires to our Heavenly Father.

Trust Him to give you His best.

Prayer for today:

     Father, You know how much I want (speak your desire to God) in my life. You know everything and You know what is best for me. I yield this desire to You. If it is Your will for me to have this, then please show me the next step to take. If it is not Your will, would You please change my desires?  Not my will, Lord, but Yours be done.

Excerpt from Amazing Hope: A 40-day Devotional by Susan Aken

Leave a comment

Filed under Amazing Hope, family, inspirational, my son, personal, prayer

Leave a Reply

