God Hates Arrogance

“…For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled and he who humbles himself will be exalted.” Luke 18:14b (Jesus speaking)  “There are six things the LORD hates, seven that are detestable to him: haughty eyes…” Proverbs 6:16

Jesus has just told the parable of the Pharisee and the tax collector. The Pharisee exalts himself, thinks he is better than others and points out all his “good deeds”. The tax collector recognizes what a sinner he is and asks for mercy. Proverbs says God hates “haughty eyes”.  The original word includes the meaning of exalting self, “To lift up oneself”, to be proud, arrogant. (There is even a second meaning that says “To be rotten or wormy”. ) Really it is the sin that caused Lucifer to be cast from heaven. Exalting self above God. God hates pride because it keeps us from Him, it takes us away from Him. The one who exalts himself can’t exalt God at the same time. The one who humbles himself acknowledges that God is exalted. Another verse that mentions this is Isaiah 2:11 “The eyes of the arrogant man will be humbled and the pride of men brought low; the LORD alone will be exalted in that day.” It seems that arrogance shows in the eyes, in our look, our demeanor. Do I realize how my pride stinks to God? When I exalt myself, I rob God of the praise He deserves. Any good thing in me or my life is a gift from Him. I can take credit for nothing. All praise goes to Him!

Father, I confess my foolish pride. It is so foolish for me to have one minute of pride. Everything I am and have is a gift from you. My next breath, that I can even have one rational thought, my entire life, my faith, any good thing I do is from you. Please, LORD, let all glory and praise go to you! Please let my life be a testimony to you. Keep me from pride and destruction. I know how weak my flesh is, help me be able to humble myself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, God, humility, personal

Leave a Reply

