Choice vs. Control

I choose what time I get up in the morning.

I choose what to have for breakfast.

I even choose my attitude.

I cannot control whether or not I will take my next breath.

I choose to eat what is healthy or not.

I choose how I will take care of my body.

I can choose to take risks or not.

I cannot control whether or not I get a disease or have an accident.

I choose how I will treat my family.

I choose to love others or to be unkind.

I can be loving, kind and unselfish.

I cannot control whether or not they love me.

I can teach my child to love God.

I can expose him to the truths of the Bible.

I choose to pray for him, take him to church and to live morally before him.

I cannot control whether or not he will choose to love God.

I choose how I spend my money.

I can pay my bills or let the debts pile up.

I can be thrifty or spend needlessly.

I cannot control whether or not I will keep what I have or lose it.

Any feeling of control is an illusion.

We can choose the kind of life we live.

We can choose to have joy even in suffering.

The greatest choice we have is to trust God.

To place our faith in Jesus Christ.

Then we place ourselves in the care of the one who does have control.

Once we belong to Him, we do not need to fear that lack of control.

We can trust Him to take care of us.

To lead us through every storm.

He promises to be our rock.

Once we believe and trust in Jesus,

we can be assured that when we leave this earth

we will live with Him forever in heaven.

That is a promise that cannot be shaken.

A treasure no one can take away.

That promise is in God’s control.

Whatever happens on this earth,

nothing or no one can take eternal life from

those who trust in Jesus Christ.

 S. Aken

Leave a comment

Filed under fear, God, personal

Leave a Reply

