Stuck in Thorns

“The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature.” Luke 8:14

In the parable of the sower, Jesus describes various people in relation to the gospel. The first group are unbelievers. Then he describes three groups who are believers. The second group of believers,hear and believe, but because of daily worries, money and possessions, and life’s pleasures, they never mature. God’s word is choked out in their lives. They don’t have time to listen and obey or they are too distracted.

Lord, I confess I know I have been trapped in these thorns too much of my life. I have not matured as I could have. I am too often complacent in riches, distracted by pleasures and consumed with worries. I try to hold on to things as they are. So, I get stuck and I don’t grow and I don’t produce a crop. Jesus, please help me. Show me how to repent. Show me how to get free.  How to have noble and good heart. My heart is not nobel. Father, please purify my heart.

How do I mature? Hear the word, retain it and persevere. (Luke 8:15)  By persevering, produce a crop. Bear fruit with patience. Don’t give up! Matt 13:23 and Mark 4:20 show that not all produce the same size crop. Some 30, some 60 and some 100 times what is sown. We won’t all look the same. So, what do I do? Keep in the word; retain it, learn it, apply it (be willing to obey what is revealed) ; and persevere. Be patient, trust God to  bring the crop.

By your mercy ,Lord, please help me to do so.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Jesus, Obedience, personal, struggles

One response to “Stuck in Thorns

  1. Thanks for the reminder that we all get stuck among the thorns at times. We allow the stresses, worries, concerns and busyness to keep us from reaping what God has for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

