Evil Hearts, Merciful God

“The LORD smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart: ‘Never again will I curse the ground because of man, even though every inclination of his heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.'” Gen. 8:21

God saw the evil on the earth, the evil in men’s hearts and decided to wipe them off the earth. He was grieved he made them. Except for Noah who was righteous. God saved Noah but promised never to destroy all of life again even though every inclination of our hearts is evil from childhood. Apart from God every intention of men’s hearts is evil. We (I) tend to want to make ourselves seem better than we are. We don’t fully realize how sinful our hearts really are. From childhood our hearts are focused on self and indulging our selfish desires. It is not our natural inclination to please God but to please ourselves. Anyone who does not follow Jesus, does not have the power to resist the flesh. Thank God the grace and blood of Jesus saves us from our sinful self and the wages of sin! But we still have to fight the flesh and resist its sinful inclinations. It is a battle we will fight until we see Him face to face and are released from this sinful flesh.

Jesus, thank you for saving me from the consequences of my sin. Thank you that I do not have to face the judgement of God because you faced it for me. You have redeemed me and you save me every day. I know my flesh is still intent on pleasing itself. Please help me yield to you more and more and resist my flesh more and more. Thank your for your mercy, dear Heavenly Father, thank you for your great and tender mercy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Jesus, salvation, sin, struggles

Leave a Reply

