Build or Tear Down?

If I want to build well, I will

have a plan,

lay a foundation,

choose good materials,

get the best tools,

do my best work,

get advice,

ask for help,

follow the plan,

take my time,

create beauty,

and always build with love and care.

If I want to tear down,

I don’t need a plan.

I just start ripping,

pounding,

throwing away,

pulling apart.

I can tear it apart

piece by piece

or I can blow it up.

It does not take

love, care or patience.

In my family,

when I build well,

I will lay the foundation

of faith in Jesus Christ,

I will follow the plan

laid out in His Holy Word.

I will choose the good

materials of love, joy, peace, patience,

kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

gentleness and self-control.

I will use the best tool available

by relying on the power of the Holy Spirit.

I will get advice from God’s word,

seeking Him in prayer and godly people.

I will seek to create beauty

by loving my family as myself,

by choosing words that give life

and by asking for forgiveness when I fail.

I will ask Him everyday to help me build

with love and care.

“The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.”

Proverbs 14:1

Leave a comment

Filed under family, love, marriage, personal, relationships

Leave a Reply

